Champion Training - Rimfire

Champion Training - Rimfire

Part #: AM22

Plinking. Targets. Competition. Training. Whatever rimfire pursuit drives you, you'll get accurate, affordable performance with Federal® Champion™ rimfire ammunition. The reliable bullet, priming and brass are suited to a wide variety of rimfire range applications.

  • Caliber: 22 LR
  • Bullet Weight (grains): 40
  • Bullet Style: Lead Round Nose
  • Muzzle Velocity: 1200
  • Ballistic Coefficient: .138
  • Package Quantity: 325
  • Use: Target Shooting
  • MSRP: $25.95

Features

Performance

Velocity in feet per second
Muzzle 50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
1200 1075 991 928
Energy in Foot Pounds
Muzzle 50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
128 103 87 76
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 mph)
Muzzle 50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
0 1.3 4.9 10.6
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 MPH Crosswind)
Average Range
50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
-6 -20.8
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 50 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.
Long Range
50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
3 -11.8
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 100 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.

Downloads

Rated 5 out of 5 by from State Championship performance Without question, this is the most reliable and accurate .22 long rifle ammunition on the market. We have tried all the "high price match ammo" and still come back to AM22 as it wins the Junior State Championship every year. I agree with another reviewer, it is hard to find and retailers triple the price on it. Thanks Federal for a great product.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best ammo for my Colt Woodsman This is by far the most accurate ammo i have fired in my Colt Woodsman.It shoots extremely well In my CZ455.I have had no issues in my 10-22 Functions well and shoots this as well as any other ammo I have used. .
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from FTE issues with S&W 22A About 30% of the rounds kept getting hung up on the way out. It was the first time I had my wife to the range and it soiled the experience. The only other gun I had was a Glock 23. She shot it twice and said, "No thanks". Maybe it's actually a blessing, but I won't run this ammo through it again. Remington Golden Bullets, which are garbage, ran through it like butter. No issues.
Date published: 2014-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failure to Load/Eject in Sig P229 (2LR conversion.) Bought my 1st box of AM22 and had terrible results compared to CCI Mini Mags and Rem. Golden. I could not shoot more than 3 rounds without a jam or failure to eject. I'm using a Sig P229 with a 22 conversion barrel slide. It handles most other brands with no problem. I tried 5 different brands and the AM22 is by far the worst performing. Federals American brand is much better.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best in my 1022 & BL22 Work very well in my 1022 and really shines in my Browning BL22 lever fun. I shoot this ammo in lever action silhouette matches and usually win (my losses are because I did poorly, not the ammo or rifle). Its starting to be available again...now I can practice more. Every .22 rifle/handgun is different - as supplies come back you can test to see witch is best for you...this is best for 2 of my rifles.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where is this stuff? I won't even consider buying another 22LR firearm when I can't buy 22LR anywhere. Come on Federal - FIX this!!!
Date published: 2014-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reliable with decent accuracy I've used hundreds of rounds through my Sig p220 classic 22 and my wife's Ruger mark III with very few failures. Accuracy is decent not as good as CCI standard velocity but similar to CCI mini mag and better then most Winchester types I've tried. Good buy for a reasonable priced plinking/practice ammo, probably good enough for steel plate competition but not the best for bullseye.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value This ammo cycles perfectly in my Glenfield model 60. Very consistent grouping. I've paid a lot more and gotten a lot less with other brands. I just wish they'd increase production, as wait times are common at the moment.
Date published: 2014-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Federal: Put my life on it. I work two jobs. One is at Theisen's in Coralville, Iowa. We sell ammo and when it comes in we pretty much get first dibs before customers. I was lucky enough to get two boxes of 325 rounds each of this stuff. I've shot Federal .22 exclusively for the past 5 years simply because it performs the best. Just look at it under a microscope compared to anything else.
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Some of the least accurate ammo I've ever shot Bought 2 325rd bulk packs hoping it would shoot close to Fed 719 HV Match...not even close. Shot 10 shot groups at 50yds out of two rifles, 3-3/4" group and 4-1/4" group. Three other brands of ammo shot no worse then 2" groups with 2 brands under 3/4"
Date published: 2013-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Broke the mould? this is excellent ammo but my point is why is it so hard to find, everywhere you look it's backorder have you broke the mould?? Please FEDERAL restock the stores!!
Date published: 2013-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bullet for the money I originally thought this was a bad ammo untill I did a shoot out with 20 other brands on my bull barrel 10/22 and cz455. In my 10/22 it was in the upper half of bunch and top 3 with the bolt action. Over all it along with the American eagle brand .22 ( yes surprise there too) performed in the top 25% and top 2 for low cost bulk ammo. It lost out only too CCIs fed gold and eley. Not bad. Some pistols I had didn't cycle it well but those pistols also didn't cycle a lot of other brands.
Date published: 2013-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from a little inconsistent Using auto match in Ruger SR22 pistol. About 1 of 15 rounds is loaded light. You can see the casing eject slowly and close to your body and there won't be a cartridge loaded in the chamber. Have to rack manually.
Date published: 2013-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent ammo Anyone who complains about the ammo is way off the mark. Either it is a problem with there weapon or feed system on the gun. this ammo is excellent. Its not expensive ammo, so dont me expecting to shoot the left wing of a mosquito off 10/10 times. Its not designed for that. Bottom line is I've shot 197/200 with the ammo and a 3-9 on a CZ rifle, and as for hunting the ammo is superb. Head shots on rabbits at well over 100 yards with a 3-9 scope. And hardly inaccurate. Great stuff federal !
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from inaccurate very inconsistent groupings using S&W M&P 15-22 with red dot.
Date published: 2013-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This ammunition does not appear to handle heat well while in storage. I purchased a box of with that contained 325 rounds about a year ago and have been using it at monthly bulls-eye matches since then. I stored the ammunition between matches in my garage. I live in southern New Mexico/west Texas. It gets very warm in the garage in the summer. Before today's match I had approximately 80 rounds remaining in the box. During today's match I had problems with the ammunition. In addition to several failures to fire, I had an actual hang fire. The Ruger mark 2 hammer fell and nothing happened for about a half of a second. I started to lower the gun and it discharged very weakly. The recoil was not strong enough to eject the spent case. Before today, I didn't realize Federal ammunition was sensitive to temperature while in storage. The moral of the story is if you live in the southwest, don't store Federal ammunition where it gets warm in the summer. I won't be using Federal rimfire ammunition any more.
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed not ideal for semi autos I have several boxes of 325 round auto match that says it is ideal for semi-autos. Well it isn't in my Ruger 10/22. Failed to extract or feed about every 5 rounds. Did that for half a box using 3 different mags same issue. Switched to Remington golden bullets and no problem. I will probably donate the rest to my Boy Scout troop to shot in their bolt action rifles.
Date published: 2013-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff, no negatives I am surprised to see any negative comments about this fine ammo. It is called "AutoMatch" on the black-and-white box, not to be confused with the lesser quality Champion 510 ammo which is good for plinking only. The AM22 AutoMatch is my go-to cost-effective round for bolt action rifles and auto pistols. Almost never jams or fails to feed. Capable of nice accurate .8 MOA groups at 50 ft, 25 yds, and 50 yds. I won't judge it beyond 50 yards because I can't read the wind that well. I have several thousand rounds stored away, I like it that much. Too bad prices are going sky high - when I first bought AM22 two years ago it cost $10.30 for a box of 325; then it went to $13.50, $14.50, $15.50 and now is about $18.00 if it can be found at all. Don't buy from the price gougers who are trying to charge $50 for a box of AutoMatch - wait and the ammo supply will reappear soon enough.
Date published: 2013-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from low to moderate performance guesse i spoiled myself with cci mini mags / but good for the grandchildren
Date published: 2012-12-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible ammo I guess these ammo makers have lawyered up because this AM22 is weak. Its cheap because it must not have very much powder behind it. I've short CB loads that are like this. Makes me wonder if this is one the government is promoting........short shelf life before its out of date. It is lead not plated. It won't lead your barrel because it doesn't get up enough velocity to melt the lead.
Date published: 2012-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent I shoot 22 Bullseye Pistol with this ammo and have great results. I was at the range today and was shooting coke cans at 200 meters (218 yards) with my 10/22, no problem. A little arch but NO PROBLEM. Great rimfire ammo, consistent results, ultra quality. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2012-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good general purpose round I have three 22 rifles. All TOZ (TO3) bolt actions. This round is favoured by each of them. Reliable, accurate and consistent, value. What else do you want?
Date published: 2012-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is great ammo in my CZ 452 American First bouhgt this ammo to try in my Model 41 when I was having problems with CCI SV. Tried it in my CZ and WOW!!! My buddy, who shoots a Kimber has now switched to Auto Match after shooting with me. Both of us are getting .315" to .5" groups at 50 yards off of a solid bench. Mo squibs, misfires or problems. Great ammo, Federal keep up the great work
Date published: 2012-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very dissapointing This ammo would not feed reliably in any of my 22's
Date published: 2012-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not perform for what it is designed for. I shoot competion .22 matches. I have been shooting some older .22 Auto Match ammo with no problems. Any of the new stuff (less than a year old) is not reliable for match competion. During my match I had two misfires and several rounds that sounded like a .22 CB Short. This ammo was designed for .22 auto's but will not function without flaws. This is not acceptable during a match.
Date published: 2012-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Federal Champion .22 40 gr target rounds I own a few Ruger .22 cal target pistols and double/single action revolvers. Since I don't hunt, I just use the 40 gr lead rounds and rarely have a failure to feed or eject unlike some of the other 40 gr rounds I have tried. These are found at Gander Mountain stores and I highly recommend them. They are priced perfect for range users and plinkers like me. I have NEVER had one dud that failed to fire plus these are perfect for finicky semi auto pistols and rifles. Great rounds for the money!
Date published: 2011-12-27
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_AM22, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_federalpremium
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT