Champion Training - Rimfire

Champion Training - Rimfire

Part #: AM22

Plinking. Targets. Competition. Training. Whatever rimfire pursuit drives you, you'll get accurate, affordable performance with Federal® Champion™ rimfire ammunition. The reliable bullet, priming and brass are suited to a wide variety of rimfire range applications.

  • Caliber: 22 LR
  • Bullet Weight (grains): 40
  • Bullet Style: Lead Round Nose
  • Muzzle Velocity: 1200
  • Ballistic Coefficient: .138
  • Package Quantity: 325
  • Use: Target Shooting
  • MSRP: $25.95

Features

Performance

Velocity in feet per second
Muzzle 50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
1200 1075 991 928
Energy in Foot Pounds
Muzzle 50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
128 103 87 76
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 mph)
Muzzle 50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
0 1.3 4.9 10.6
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 MPH Crosswind)
Average Range
50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
-6 -20.8
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 50 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.
Long Range
50 Y 100 Y 150 Y
3 -11.8
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 100 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.

Downloads

Rated 2 out of 5 by from good accuracy, lots of duds When this ammo actually fires it has been accurate and consistent for me in pistol or rifle usage. Lots and Lots of dud rounds though (once had 14 of 40 wouldn't fire from ruger mk iii despite multiple attempts). Also, ammo seems to have a hard time cycling ruger 10/22 (lots of stovepipes). The only reason for the 2 stars if for the consistency and accuracy I have experienced when ammo fires. And, I'll say it's no dirtier running than any other 22 lr. Disappointed that I purchased many thousands of these rounds; have already shot several thousands (with a guestimated 35ish% 1st time fire failure; about half of those still would not fire after multiple attempts), several thousand more to go. Will not purchase again unless it is only ammo avail.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent 22lr for target indoor or outdoor I have used many different manufacturer of 22lr in my revolvers and semi automatics . I have found that the Federal Target Champion is the best for reliability and consistent with no miss fires or light strikes.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only good for plinking. One of the firearm sales people at Cabela’s recommended I try this ammo. Normally I shoot CCI Mini-Mags in my two 22 semi-auto rifles (a Winchester 290 and a Marlin 795). But this was cheap 1200 fps ammo and he said he liked it. So I bought a 325-round box to try (lot #14P205). So far, I haven’t had any failure-to-eject, so the blowback power is adequate for my semi-autos. I also shot test rounds in a long barrel bolt action 22. Accuracy was not as good as the Mini-Mags. I certainly would not call it “Match” ammo. In the first 90 rounds I had 9 failure-to-fire (10%), and 5 of those rounds would not fire even when retried multiple times in multiple guns. Very disappointing. I will be relegating this ammo to plinking only. It is too unreliable for competition or hunting. Sorry, I cannot recommend this inexpensive ammo.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economic and reliable This is my standard indoor range ammo. Reliable function in all my auto-loaders. Accuracy on a par with Blazer bulk. Not match grade, but that is expected. Good product from Federal.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not enough kick Tried shooting up a couple boxes purchased in 2015. Will only cycle the slide on my Ruger SR22 pistol about 20% of the time. This is revolver ammo.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great practice ammo The Federal AutoMatch works flawlessly in my S&W Victory. I was surprised at how clean my pistol was after firing several hundred rounds through it. I was so happy with it's performance that on the way home from the range I stopped off at the store and bought four more boxes of it.
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from most accurate of common .22 This stuff works great in all my .22s. Ruger auto pistol, ruger 1022 and my Ruger single six in SS. And Dicks sporting goods has it on sale and in stock.
Date published: 2018-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid, Dependable, .22LR Works well in my Browning S-As, Ruger Mark IIIs and Ruger 10/22s. Sometimes a bit dirty and a few misfires, but for the price, good .22 ammo.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FVSS-XP Rocks the Range with Auto Match I have been using this ammo reliably in my Ruger Mk II bull, my S&W M&P 15-22 and was very happy. Recently picked up a Savage FVSS-XP bolt action 21" fluted tartget barrel and my happy index increased. 10 rounds downrange to 50 yards and I can cover the pattern with a dime. Going back to the semi's I have never had a FTE or FTF with this ammo. I clean my firearms after each use so a little soot doesn't bother me. I'll shoot this as long as I can find it.
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Craptastic ammo! This ammo is junk. Numerous (5 to 10% per 325 round box) misfires (i.e. no priming compound) cost me a Rifleman patch at Appleseed for 2nd year in a row with two different lot #s. Accuracy not consistent either (3 rounds touching, next three 2 to 3 inches away). I would expect this performance from plinking ammo, not something labeled autoMATCH!! Do not buy this product.
Date published: 2017-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great backup or practice ammo I use in my CZ 455 For the money it's almost as accurate as the UM22 Match. I can practice all day without going broke or getting a bank loan. You can call me cheap or prudent. But I'm having fun with this stuff..
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shoots great in my Rugers This is my preferred ammo for my Ruger 22/45 Lite, and I shoot it through my 10/22 Takedown as well with no problems. Shoots as accurate as I am. All brass is clean and shiny, bullets are all cast consistently and look good, tight in the cases. Happy with the 4 or so boxes I've shot so far.
Date published: 2017-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Should be named Bolt Action or Single Shot Ammo I have 3 High Standard 22 handguns , 2 Smith & Wesson model 41 , Ruger MK2 , Colt Woodsman Match Target handgun . Ammo will not blow back slide to eject on any of these premium guns . Failure almost every shot . CCI Standard velocity ammo will work every of these guns . My only gun that this works in is a Browning Buckmark .
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Ammo!! Ten shots with my Savage Mark IIY. Used a bipod on the bench at my local range.
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Am22=So far, GTG Have over 100 boxes of these ordered over the last year from mult stores so, many different lot#'s etc and for me they've been very consistent tack drivers from ruger 10/22 and mossberg 715t as well. mossberg=iron sights at 50-75 yds; ruger= scoped 100-150yds; can do <1.5" groups with both. Recently tried them out to 300yds on 10" AR500 and after a few shots to settle in the scope hold point had fairly consistent 4" groups. ammo is also used in mult pistols and revolvers without issue. several thousand rounds fired and only 3 misfires so far. a little dirty though cleaner than others but hey, it is .22 rimfire after-all. I'm just a plinker and target shooter. So far very pleased with this ammo.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ammo of choice Works great in auto pistols. Cycle great in all I have tried so far. I find it is fairly clean shooting ammo also.
Date published: 2016-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good revolver ammo This ammunition shoots very tight groups in my S&W K-22 revolver. It groups tighter than a competitors match pistol cartridges. I have found that this is a very accurate and reliable type in my Ruger Mark III. A good value.
Date published: 2016-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly accurate in bolt guns It isn't the most reliable in my Buckmark but with my CZ455 it produces excellent 100 yd groups on paper and is reliably "minute of rabbit" with head shots out to +80 yds.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I have 700+ rounds of this ammo through a Ruger LCR without a single issue. It is much cleaner than most 22lr ammo also.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for semi-auto pistols I just got stuck with 2 box's of this ammo because it was the only thing available. It will not cycle the action on my new Walther P22Q. Very disappointing. I do not believe the velocity is what it is claimed to be.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taurus PT 22 I have a Taurus PT 22 with approx. 400 rounds fired. Using CCI Mini Mag 40 grain CPRN I have no problem. Bought 4 boxes @ 325 each box and from the first box I got about 20 stovepipes. Just not enough velocity to eject the spent casing and reload. The ammo works fine in my Marlin 795. I like the ammo due to the fact it is clean burning and leaves very little fragments behind. I do not recommend for the Taurus PT 22. It's still good ammo
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is the best a,mmo for my ar 22lr No other ammo has cycled through my gun like this am 22lr.. none. i strongly recommend it. But it's very hard to get. when ordering make sure you talk to someone get thier name because they will send you match gold not auto match.......non refundable or returns
Date published: 2016-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from AM22 The first carton fired good groups and no misfires. Second carton was not grouping satisfactory, switched ammo, grouping came back. The remainder of this carton was used in a High Standard target pistol, had at least one misfire out of every thirty shots. Switch ammo, no misfires. I had a third carton with the same lot number as the second carton, so far only a few misfires. Most misfires go off on the second strike. Bad lot ?? Hope so, have two more cartons to go.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Checking out the first available ammo I could buy. I purchased a 325 round carton of Auto Master today. It is the first American Made ammunition I have seen in a gun store in 6 years. I have used Federal Premium Match and Target loads for years. Federal Match ammo shoots 0.20 five shot 50 yard groups consistently in my Browning Model 52. I have not seen any on sale in my area for over 6 years. I don't know what the game is, but there is not any ammo in Salt Lake City or Northern Utah available. It you find an off brand ammo the price is beyond ridiculous. PLEASES TELL ME WHAT IS GOING ON. I HAVE READ REVIEWS IN MAJOR MAGAZINE AND THE AMERICAN RIFLEMAN. THEY ARE TRUE OF OUR AREA.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 5% misfires, FTF/FTEs, Dirty Picked up 3 boxes (325 each) of the AM22 Federal Target Grade "Performance" .22 lr ammo. In 4 magazines for my GSG 1911 .22 lr pistol, i had at least 3 failure to fires (nice bright brass strike mark on the casing!), multiple failure to feeds and 3 failure to eject. My pistol is clean and i have never had any other ammunition problems using multiple manufacturers. This ammunition also produced a substantial amount of smoke (DIRTY). this product has "Ideal for Semi-Autos" printed right on the box! Lot # IIGI77 (or 11G177). after 40 rounds, i will not shoot it again. Would work in a revolver or bolt action rifle maybe.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mis-fires Just purchased a 325 count container of your ammo. Lot # 1FG215. I am shooting a new S & W 22A. Your ammo was doing well other than smokey and a little dirty. This refers to ammo other than Lot # 1FG215. The problem with this box is that in the first 50 rounds fired today, five did not fire. Several others did fire when they were reloaded and fired again. Very poor performance from your product.
Date published: 2015-09-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from underloaded, doesn't cycle semiautos reliably It may be perfectly fine in revolvers or bolt-action rifles, but in my Ruger Mk III pistol I can't get three rounds in a row out of it without an FTF or an FTE. This is VERY disappointing. I expected better of Federal, but this stuff isn't even as good as the old "Champion" bulk pack with the copper plated hollowpoints, which at least cycle the action--if they go off. I'll say this much. I've never had a dud with it. But a malfunction is a malfunction, and if there isn't enough powder to cycle the action, does it matter whether it went off in the first place? What does accuracy matter if the gun won't function with this ammo in the first place? I know that with the panic and the shortage (by the way, Federal, introducing new calibers during the worst ammo shortage since WWII is NOT helping matters) you can't be choosy. But since Blount owns Federal and CCI now anyway, you really need to go to the CCI plant and watch them making Blazers and Mini-Mags. That's what I need for semiauto firearms, both the power level and the quality level. The Champion bulk pack copper plated hollowpoints would be ideal if so many of them weren't duds.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not what it used to be This used to be very consistent and reliable ammo. The last few bricks I have purchased were absolute garbage. Duds, bent and just general poor performance in several of my .22 guns. This was my go to ammo but i wont purchase it anymore. It makes range visits very frustrating instead of fun
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for rifles I just bought a new Henry Golden Boy rifle and this Ammo works great in it. I buy the Federal Bulk Box with 323 rounds and the price is good and the it shoots very well with no jams or trouble.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only ammo for my colt woodsman I have a 1946 woodsman, and this is the only ammo I have found that never jams. Never once yet after ten boxes. It's accurate and cheap too. And yes, I'm a real person, not a paid shill :-) .
Date published: 2015-03-10
  • y_2019, m_5, d_25, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_AM22, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_federalpremium
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT