Gold Medal Sierra MatchKing

Gold Medal Sierra MatchKing

Part #: GM308M
Long range isn’t just a distance. It’s a state of mind. A dedication to push further. And it’s why Federal Premium® builds Gold Medal® rifle loads. The exclusive primer design provides the best sensitivity and most consistent ballistics in the industry. The precision-built Sierra® MatchKing® bullet is shot to win more matches than any other rifle bullet. It's the only choice for the world’s most elite shooters.
  • Caliber: 308 Win
  • Bullet Weight (grains): 168
  • Bullet Style: Sierra MatchKing Boat-Tail Hollow Point
  • Muzzle Velocity: 2650
  • Ballistic Coefficient: .462
  • Package Quantity: 20
  • Use: Target Shooting
  • MSRP: $33.95

Features

Performance

Velocity in feet per second
Muzzle 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
2650 2460 2277 2103 1936 1778
Energy in Foot Pounds
Muzzle 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
2619 2257 1935 1650 1398 1179
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 mph)
Muzzle 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
0 0.7 3.1 7.4 13.4 22
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 MPH Crosswind)
Average Range
50 Y 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y
-0.1 -4.3 -15.3
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 100 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.
Long Range
50 Y 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
1 2.1 -8.9 -25.5 -51.5
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 200 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.

Downloads

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome These bullets are outstanding. Very accurate out of my savage model 11. Have not had any misfires or jams or ejection failures. Love them.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Federal Premium Nosler Ballistic Tip I won’t use anything else. The most accurate and reliable ammunition I’ve ever used.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gold Medal Berge in RPR 6.5 Creedmoor- Rocks! I have a new Ruger Precision Rifle in 6.5 Creedmoor. I was trying several bullet weights to see which shot best in my rifle. I happened to find a box of the Gold Medal Berger in 130 Gr. After a few fowler rounds, I shot three consecutive rounds through one hole at 100 yards. I moved to the 200 yard range and the next 3 were 1/2 MOA. I have to question my ability to reload 6.5 Creedmoor , when I can buy ammo this accurate and not spend the time and cost of the additional reloading dies and additional items to make accurate ammo.
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s the best ammo out there in my opinion I tryed this last year and was very impressed At 100 yards 5 shots there was only 1 visible hole it got bored so ended up taking out all the numbers on the target the bullets and my setup it’s a tac driver I just ordered two more boxes from cebelas sale is $21 per box of 20 now
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Velocity deviations from lot to lot is dreadful Bought 400 rounds from two different gun stores. I ended up with three lots. Two of the lots were pretty close in velocity. 2550 and 2520. The last lot of 200 rounds are all coming in under 2450, in fact I'd be happy with 2450. I'm shooting a Remington 700 and this deviation makes it impossible to use this ammo. Federal needs to get this fixed and ASAP or I'm done with this ammo. When one box is 11.2mil to 1000 yards and the next box is 13.1mil.... there is a massive problem here and this needs to be addressed. Not to mention the wind was having a field day. Again switched lots and was hammering the 20inch plate. Any ideas Federal???
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got what I was hoping for. Sighting a new Ruger Precision Rifle for the first time with a Vortex Viper 4-16X50 scope and after firing 80 rounds cheap ammo for set up and a little break in, switched to this Gold Medal Match 168 Gain and once adjustments were made on 100 yrd target (tail wind of 2-3mph, elevation 941ft, humidity 36%, temp at 84F), was getting 5 round groups under .5 MOA with my best for the day at .411 MOA.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Factory made 308 ammo you can buy! ACCURATE!! I bought this ammo and it performed so well I could not believe it after using a dozen other brands! I also reload meticulously and this Federal 308 168 grain ammo shoots to the same point of aim as my painstaking reloads do! I may put reloading on the back burner for the future and keep buying the Federal ammo for now!
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from no complaint on ammo performance This ammo shot quite well,but when I went to size casings about 9 out of 40 rounds wouldn't go in the shell holder.Can you tell me why?
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great result from a mediocre rifle. 1"@300yds from a Savage Axis, bone stock, Burris Fullfield II with 24 magnification. Fantastic results for a guy that has only shot a rifle for about a year.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried this ammo after a SWAT friend gave me some. I bought a Ruger Precision.308 in June and couldn't shoot it due to shoulder surgery. Got it out last weekend a was able to get 261 yards from the target before running out of room. It shot a 1 inch group at that range. Astounding. That puts in in the .38 MOA range.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing accuracy from my rifle Rifle is a Steyr SSG 69, Nightforce NXS 5.5 x 22 scope, Leupold Mark 4 mounts on the Steyr picatinny rail built for that rifle. Just had the rifle action bedded into the factory green stock. 1984 vintage rifle with set triggers. When set the trigger breaks at 2 oz. Barrel is free floated. Sighted in on Sunday. Groups were .372" and .442". Today I paid attention to my bench procedures and shot .192" and .1295" groups! I stopped and decided to save this ammo for matches. This is using a Harris bipod and a sandbag rear rest. Today's wind ranged from 2.5 to 6 mph so not perfect conditions. I proceeded to 200 yards and shot consistent .75" -.8" groups despite the wind. For comparison I shot Prvi 7.62 nato, 147 grn FMJ that shot about 1.25 MOA. I don't know how I could improve on the Gold Medal Match with handloads despite having Lapua Palma brass and Lapua D46 bullets. I'll add that it shoots almost as well with the Federal 175's.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome round. I just got a DPMS LR 308 with 16" barrel and my friend Mike said if I hand load I could get 1/2 moa. No .308 dies so I purchased Federal Gold Medal 168gr. I shot one box and got just over 1 moa several times and things got worse. The gas block screws came loose. Southern Guns in Longwood, Fl corrected it and I hit the range. 0.287 moa.
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Novice shooter on a great rifle and I'm in love. I'm a 47 year old rifle novice. I had the pleasure of having a range instruction day with an expert sniper. Using a custom AR 10 with a dead on scope and this Gold Match ammo my wife and I took turns knocking bowling pins off sign posts from 200 yards. He refused to take our money but we made arrangements for another range day and a few boxes of this ammo will be my gift to him. I see why he loves it.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I use this ammo in a Savage 10T rifle mounted in a McMillan A5 stock. My scope is a Vortex Viper PST FFP 4-26X50. The attached photo is from a 5 shot group for a hundred yard zero setting. This ammo is a real bargain for the performance it produces.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for all game in Mississippi I use this round in my Browning BLR when my 35 Rem isn't enough. Devastating even on big boar hogs at 200 to 300 yards.
Date published: 2014-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from where to find more I love this ammo but I am needing more. Can anyone help me with a place or an individual that might have some in stock that is trying to sell it? Thanks
Date published: 2014-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As Good as Custom Hand Loads As an avid shooter/reloader with prior sniper and competition experience, I usually don't have very high expectations with factory ammo. That being said, I am very impressed with the Gold Medal Match 168's. I shoot sub-1/2" with these and my personal hand loads, which I developed to match the Gold Medal ammo. With my Remington 700 I can use thumb tacks for targets at 100 and hold sub-1" out to 400. This is some seriously precise ammo for serious shooters...
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The picture tell the story. First day of shooting with my new Accuracy International with a Night Force scope at 100 yards. I was told that the rifle liked this load. Both groups .25"
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect for my rifle I shoot two .308 rifles: an FNAR 20-inch fluted medium barrel, 1 in 10 twist. Optic is a Nikon long-range Monarch BDC 4-20x42 ... had this rifle five years & use it for both target shooting and deer hunting. The FNAR is a precision rifle and was spec'd found this cartridge. Because this ammo isn't inexpensive I tried other high-end ammunition in it and learned an important lesson: anything else loads-up the gas manager & stops the semi-auto cycle plus no other is nearly as accurate when it does fire. I now use only this ammo and if I can see it out to 700 yards I hit it. Last year I took a big White Tail Buck at 387 yards just at full dusk with a light wind blowing left to right (thanks Nikon!!) -- dropped him in his tracks -- the 168 gr HP did massive organ damage without destroying edible meat. My other rifle is a Savage Axis low-end bolt rifle with a borrowed Night Force 5-20x55 scope. Two hours ago I dropped a big, old Doe at 160 yards in moderate brush. She was on my cull list. This ammo is better than the rifle and gets absolutely every bit of range & accuracy it is rifle is capable of delivering. Because of these two rifles and this ammunition my game freezer gets filled to the brim every year ... and I get to have fun at the range in the off-season. I recommend this bullet to any serious hunter or target shooter in any rifle chambered for .308 ...
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Didn't believe it myself; the round is simply amazing. I'm not a seasoned precision shooter by any means but this ammo is fantastic. I don't reload so finding a store bought round that shoots this well in my new rifle is simply wonderful. I'm shooting the Gold Medal® 308 Win. Sierra® MatchKing BTHP out of my Sig Sauer SSG 3000 at 50 yds (only available range so far). With math I found on the internet, I took my 1/2" overall group, subtracted .308" bullet diameter and plugged that into my MOA Shooters App on my iPhone. The MOA came out to .37 MOA. I've attached a picture. I think this will be my "go to" round for now. Thanks for reading. Russell
Date published: 2013-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent long range power I shoot a custom Rock River Arms AR style 308 with a 22 inch heavy barrel and a Sightron 12.5 to 50 X 60 mm scope. For long range (300 to 700 yds.) hunting, or if needed, possible tactical applications, I haven't found another 308 round that will deliver a terminal solution like the the GM308M in 168 grain, anywhere on the market! At almost 1800 fps at 500 yds., what else needs to be said?Simply the very best!! Thanks Federal!!!
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome round. No need to look further. I shot a quarter-sized group from 200 yards with a 10x fixed scope out of a LAR-8. That is a Rock River Arms .308 semi auto. Pretty good for a semi auto.
Date published: 2013-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The standard by which my reloads are judged I am convinced this is the absolute best factory ammo on the market. I used a Rem 700 SPS Varmint (1:12 twist with a 26 inch barrel) to put a 5 shot group of 0.75 inches at 100 yards with the 168 gr 308's. I fired about 35 more times (I was breaking in the rifle and testing some different loads) and ended the day with a three round group of no separation! I put three rounds in the same hole! These rounds set the standard for my reloads. My goal when reloading is to make a load that can match the performance I get out of the federal gold medal match stuff. Even though I found a load that can meet it (42.3 gr of RE-15 and Sierra 168 Mk), I still keep a few boxes of this stuff around just in case. Love it!
Date published: 2013-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably accurate Just shot my SCAR Heavy at 200 meters using this ammo (16" barrel, Geissele SuperSSA trigger, bipod on cement table). Shot two 5 shot groups (after a few fouling shots) one measuring 5/8 inch (.29 moa) and one measuring 1 and 3/8 inch (.63 moa - 1 outlier) - no wind. And this from a piston driven semi-auto! Clearly I must have gotten lucky with the harmonics but still this says a whole lot about how good this ammo is - right from the box. I won't be shooting anything else at this point.
Date published: 2013-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't buy this ammo; that leaves more for me. Using a Remington Milspec 5R, I was able to shoot .375" at 100 yards. The picture says it all.
Date published: 2013-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Factory Ammo Just purchased a box yesterday. My first two shots out of my Remington VTR this morning touched at a 100. Third shot was 1/4" below first two. Returned to the store and bought six more boxes. Fan for life.
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely THE best factory Ammunition available! I shoot a Ruger M77 MkII .308 target model. shooting the factory barrel with an added compensator and some customization to the stock... that's all. After shooting grain weights from 150 to 180 from 10 different loadings and 6 manufacturers, I found that Federal's Gold Medal Match 168 grn ammo was hands down, the most accurate I tried! 9-29-12 shooting in Albuquerque, NM at nearly 6000 ft elevation, 65 degrees, and 9 o'clock 10 mph wind, off a bi-pod and rear mono-pod, I shot a 3 shot, 200yd group that measured .587" center to center! This ammo routinely shoots sub half moa out of my rifle. When you factor in the cost being 2/3 of several premium brands that don't shoot as well... It's a no brainer! Federal's 168grn GMM is unbeatable!
Date published: 2012-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best production rifle round on the market This ammo is better that all the other factory loads I have tried and beats most hand loads. In my blueprinted 700 action with a Bartlein 5r barrel I am getting .23" groups at 100 yards. My stock factory Remington can only get about .50" group with it. The ammo is capable of better accuracy than an off the shelf rifle can deliver. It is easy to get a sub MOA group with this ammo in most quality rifles but to see its true potential you need to use it in a trued action with a high quality barrel bedded in a quality stock.
Date published: 2012-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very accurate I shoot a stock Savage 10 fcp-k .308 and at 300 yards I have a nice group and at 200 yards all shots are touching. The picture attached is 300 yards, around 78 degrees F. I am new to shooting, I have has this gun for a month. 3rd time out.
Date published: 2012-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gold medal match i grew up with the philosophy only the best will do.you dont have to burn up a lot of ammo to discover you have finally found the wholly grail of ammunition with the federal gold medal match 308 168 grain.after 5 rounds it is obvious that this the best.get it and enjoy life.i used a remmington 700 5r milspec 308, leupold mark 4 lrt,harris bipod,supported at the rear by a shooting bag.in a 5 shot group 4 holes were each part of each other. stevak miami lakes
Date published: 2012-08-06
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_GM308M, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_federalpremium
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT