Gold Medal Sierra MatchKing

Gold Medal Sierra MatchKing

Part #: GM308M2
Long range isn’t just a distance. It’s a state of mind. A dedication to push further. And it’s why Federal Premium® builds Gold Medal® rifle loads. The exclusive primer design provides the best sensitivity and most consistent ballistics in the industry. The precision-built Sierra® MatchKing® bullet is shot to win more matches than any other rifle bullet. It's the only choice for the world’s most elite shooters.
  • Caliber: 308 Win
  • Bullet Weight (grains): 175
  • Bullet Style: Sierra MatchKing Boat-Tail Hollow Point
  • Muzzle Velocity: 2600
  • Ballistic Coefficient: .505
  • Package Quantity: 20
  • Use: Target Shooting
  • MSRP: $33.95

Features

Performance

Velocity in feet per second
Muzzle 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
2600 2427 2262 2102 1949 1803
Energy in Foot Pounds
Muzzle 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
2627 2290 1987 1717 1476 1264
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 mph)
Muzzle 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
0 0.6 2.9 6.9 12.5 20.3
Wind Drift in Inches (at 10 MPH Crosswind)
Average Range
50 Y 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y
-0.1 -4.4 -15.7
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 100 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.
Long Range
50 Y 100 Y 200 Y 300 Y 400 Y 500 Y
1 2.2 -9.1 -25.8 -51.8
Height of bullet trajectory in inches above or below line of sight if zeroed at 200 yards. Sights 1.5 inches above bore line.

Downloads

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Range I shoot in a club where we are lucky enough to shoot long distance I shoot F class NRA AR tactical prone at mid range 600 yards this ammo works great.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from as others have said This is the gold standard. I use this as a standard which I try to beat with my handloads.
Date published: 2015-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbeatable manufacturer ammo for precision shooting I'm new to the precision game but have shot quite regularly in the past. I've shot this ammo from my m14 and ssg3000. Both produce excellent results. The SSG however, consistantly produces .6 MOA 5 shot groups at 100 yds. I have yet to take her out farther due to lack of places to shoot. But I really do love this ammo and think me being a newer precision shooter, it speaks volumes to the rounds performance. I have punched a 1 hole 3 shot group at 100 yds but that's not the norm with my skill level. I look forward to range time every chance I get, and love showing off the performance of the round and my rifle. I've recommended the round in bs sessions every chance I get.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GM 308M2 in DPMS GII SASS 18 in Barrel I tried this round on the recommendation of a friend in breaking in my new GII SASS (1:10 twist, 18 in barrel). Zeroing at 25 meters had rounds going through the same holes. At 100 yards had 1.25 in. shot groups. At 200 yards I had 2.50 shot groups. I am very pleased with this round and will continue to use it. Next step - build a range card so I can calculate the drop out to 800 yards.
Date published: 2014-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the standard for factory accuracy I use Federal Gold Medal Match to benchmark my precision rifles. It is THE standard for consistent accuracy. I only wish it was easier to find some days.
Date published: 2014-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OUT STANDING!! I KILLED A 350 CLASS BULL ELK IN THE IDAHO HIGH COUNTRY ..With a well placed shot from a .308 @460 yards with this ammo..He took 4 steps and piled up!! Enough Said!! Msgt D Terry-- Boise!
Date published: 2013-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product produced same hole or touching hole groups in 2 rifles I shot a case of Fed Match loads in a Sako TRG and Springfield M1A. The Sako was under .30 5 shot groups at 100 yds and 1/2 MOA at 300 yds. The M14 factory with scope was 1/2 in touching hole groups at 100 yds. I had no flyers, and the TRG shoots it better than my handloads .
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT !!!! I THOUGHT THE 168 GOLD MATCH WAS THE CAT DADDY UNTIL I SHOT YOUR 175 GOLD MATCH !!!! DIDNT KNOW ANY BETTER BUT HAVE SHOT 5 DEER FROM 100 TO 200 YDS AND DROPPED EACH ONE . ( THEY DIDNT NO ANY BETTER EITHER) WHAT THESE ROUNDS TAUGHT ME WAS THE TRUE POTENTIAL OF MY RIFLES. WILL NEVER USE ANY OTHER BRANDS AGAIN ! MY SAKO SHOT A 5 RD 7/16 GROUP WHILE MY MILSPEC SHOT A 5 RD 3/8 GROUP !!!!
Date published: 2012-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Ammo At our sniper school we use both the 168 gr and 175 gr Gold Medal ammunition. I consider it the "gold standard" by which all other ammo is judged. I am lucky in the fact that I built a M40 style Remington 700 from a factory barreled action and ended up with a true performer. This weapon/ammo combination allows me consistant hits at the 600 yard line with a verfied sub-minute accuracy!! Having been a shooting member of the Marine Corps Pistol Team, a Marine Corps Distinguished Pistol shot, Marine Corps Ammo Tech, and match armorer I feel I know a thing or two about ammo. This is great ammunition!
Date published: 2012-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 600 Yard shoot Shot 25 rounds at a 500 yard competition target placed at 600 yards. 9 Bulls-eyes on a 0.21 MOA bullseye and 17 rounds in a 0.42 MOA 10 ring. All 25 rounds within 1 MOA. Great ammo. Rifle: M40A2 Remington 700 with Leopold 8-25 power scope, advertised as a 1/4 MOA rifle, built by Mike Lau.
Date published: 2012-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best amo ever Using my national match M1A iron sights; 5 shots in 1.5 inch disc from 200 yards; 20 shots in a 3 inch disk.
Date published: 2012-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 shot group at 300yds Used my Remington 700 (M40A1 clone). 5 shot group at 300 yards (3 inch square). It may not be the best grouping out there, but it's good enough for me!
Date published: 2012-09-19
  • y_2019, m_6, d_16, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_GM308M2, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_federalpremium
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT